Our Last Day

So….we quit Whole30. We quit without warning and rather unexpectedly. My husband and I both got sick of feeling hungry all. the. time. and I was having “tummy troubles” that lasted a few days and woke me up at night so when we got the invite to go out for Italian with the in-laws, we looked at each other and said, “we’re in.” And can I just say that the first bite of fresh warm Italian bread with soft butter spread on it was amazing?! YUM. 

Our diet has stayed pretty close to how it was on Whole30. The only new food we’ve bought is a loaf of rosemary-olive bread from a farmer’s market and some cheese (brie and sharp cheddar). Now for breakfast we have eggs and toast and for lunch I had a piece of bread with cheddar in addition to my Whole30 compliant chicken breast and fruit. Being off Whole30 has felt good and we are enjoying less-constant hunger 🙂

In terms of numbers, we weighed ourselves before going out to dinner. I had lost 7 pounds in just over two weeks and my husband lost five. We were pleased with the results and can’t imagine what would have happened if we stuck with it for another two weeks. My pants and shirts are fitting better and I’ve noticed that my nails are stronger and healthier than ever before (seriously, the tips of my nails are so white I keep thinking I got a French manicure!). My hair has also been shinier. I’ve noticed that my arms are getting a little of their reddish tint with little bumps (keratosis pilaris) back, and I think that’s from the dairy. Like I said, the only dairy in our diet now is cheese and not that much.

Am I disappointed that we quit all of a sudden? Nope. I was bored to tears with just eggs for breakfast and I still can’t look at a salad. We stuck it out as long as we could and now we know for next time what we need to do to make it a success. We’re thinking of trying Whole30 again in September or October so standby for our continuing adventures!

Leave a Reply

